British Council Architecture Design Fashion

Menu Show search

Architectural Futures at the Royal Academy 2020

Architectural Futures at the Royal Academy 2020 Royal Academy

Royal Academy

19 February 2020

Due to Coronavirus, the Royal Academy is now closed, wishing to ensure the health and wellbeing of visitors and staff - as well as the general public - during this unprecedented time. 

From Palestine and Malaysia to China and Finland, discover the work of the four Royal Academy Dorfman Award finalists in a free display in the RA's Architecture Studio in London: 21 February - 4 May 2020.

Discover the work of the four nominees for this year’s Royal Academy Dorfman Award, selected by an international jury chaired by Norman Foster RA: AAU Anastas, AOR Architects, BCKJ Architects and WHBC Architects.

This is a unique opportunity to experience the work of these practices first-hand ahead of the Royal Academy Architecture Awards Week when the winner will be announced. Find out more about the RA Awards Week here.

The display delves into each of the finalist's practices through models, prototypes, photographs and drawings. Learn how they are uniquely responding to local landscape, climate and culture, pushing the boundaries of architecture and experimenting with new materials and traditional craftsmanship.

As part of the exhibition, you will also have the chance to vote for your favourite finalist and the People’s Choice Winner, to be announced at the Architecture Awards Week Closing Party on 19 March 2020.

The annual Royal Academy Dorfman Award was established in 2018 and is awarded to an emerging architect, practice or collective that is re-imagining the possible futures of architecture. The British Council is the International Partner for the Royal Academy Architecture Awards.

Visit the exhibition
21 February - 4 May 2020
The Architecture Studio, The Dorfman Senate Rooms
Burlington Gardens, Royal Academy of Arts

Visit the RA's website to find out more about the exhibition and learn more about the RA Architecture Awards here.